Manga in My Life: Donten ni Warau

Donten ni Warau image from EgScans

One thing waiting obviously brings, is the openness to explore and read one or two new manga. Along with the addition of having a number of available number of chapters, which I would say is an absolute plus for me.

And with that I present Donten ni Warau. I came by this manga yesterday while browsing for a new chapter of Noblesse on EgScans. I took up reading this without any idea or background what the story was about, I actually started reading though it on the newest chapter, but the art of this series captured me and I just had to start at the beginning.

Needless to say I am now up to date on the story, one thing absolutely love about EgScans is the webtoon feature in their online manga reader that allows you to just scroll down to read a complete chapter not just the default one page.

The manga has great art and the characters shown are all interesting and human-like that they just grow on you. You laugh with them and shake your head at their idiocy at times and feel for them. One thing I like about this manga was the relationship of the brothers that the author showed here. I mean we can all attest to having that one person we look up to, that one person whose back is always in our eyesight, and we strive to be equals to.

A theme that at time seems repetitive if you take account Itachi of Naruto and Ace of One Piece, but then again you weren’t always with them, story wise  You only had brief encounters that made you only then see what they truly were, in this case I’m talking about Itachi for I have yet to read One Piece. But here you will be with him and learn about him; his love, his laughter, his antics, his secrets and his heartbreaking pain… Their heartbreaking pain.

I read this while at work so you can only guess how stupid I look while I was trying not to cry while reading the 14th chapter. And still even now I tear up just thinking about it… All I can say is that it is worth reading, so do me a favor and read it.

Tears aren’t just for girls, they are for those who love.

Share your thoughts